Crawford County, Arkansas Weather

Crawford County is located in the northwest corner of Arkansas and is bordered by Missouri, Oklahoma, and Washington counties. The population of Crawford County is approximately 61,000 people. According to, the county was founded in 1820 and named for William H. Crawford, the ninth United States Secretary of War.

The county seat is Van Buren, which was once a thriving port town on the Arkansas River, connecting the state to Louisiana and Texas. Today, Van Buren serves as a hub for commerce in the region and boasts a charming downtown area with unique shops and restaurants. The city also hosts a variety of special events throughout the year such as their annual Heritage Days Festival in October.

Crawford County has several attractions that draw visitors from across the state including beautiful Lake Fort Smith State Park with its crystal clear waters, historic Belle Pointe Plantation House Museum, and Ozark National Forest offering miles of hiking trails for outdoor enthusiasts. Other attractions include the Alma Aquatic Center which features indoor pools year-round as well as an outdoor pool open during summer months; Chaffee Crossing Historic District which houses over forty historic buildings; and Lake Wedington Recreation Area which features camping sites for those looking to explore nature’s beauty up close.

Famous people from Crawford County include former professional baseball player Joe Dyche who played for five Major League Baseball teams from 1924 to 1933; Grammy award-winning country music artist Justin Moore; actor/director/producer Tyler Perry; musician Mike Mills of R.E.M.; television personality/entrepreneur Martha Stewart; author/journalist Bob Woodward; former US Senator David Pryor; and former President Bill Clinton who was born in Hope but raised in nearby Hot Springs National Park.

Climate and weather in Crawford County, Arkansas

According to, the climate in Crawford County, Arkansas is generally humid subtropical with hot, humid summers and mild winters. The average annual temperature is around 62°F with July being the hottest month and January the coldest. Annual precipitation averages around 45 inches of rain and snowfall is relatively rare.

The spring months of March to May are usually mild and pleasant with temperatures ranging between 50°F to 70°F. This is a great time for outdoor activities such as hiking, camping, and fishing.

June through August are hot and humid with temperatures reaching up to 90°F during the day. The nights tend to stay warm as well, so if you’re planning on camping in the area make sure to bring plenty of insect repellent.

September through November are generally mild again with temperatures ranging from 50°F to 70°F. This is a great time for outdoor activities such as hunting, fishing, or visiting local attractions like historic Belle Pointe Plantation House Museum or Ozark National Forest.

December through February are cold but not overly so with temperatures typically ranging from 30°F to 50°F during the day. Snowfall does occur occasionally but it rarely sticks around for long due to the warm winter climate in this region of Arkansas.

Transportation in Crawford County, Arkansas

Crawford County, Arkansas is served by several major transportation networks. It is easily accessible by car with multiple highways and roads running through the region. Interstates 40 and 540 run through the county, connecting it to nearby cities such as Fort Smith and Fayetteville. US Highway 71 runs north/south through the county, providing access to other nearby cities like Van Buren and Alma.

The region is also served by several bus companies, including Greyhound Lines, Ozark Regional Transit (ORT), and Mountain View Transit (MVT). These companies provide regular bus services throughout the area with stops in major towns like Van Buren, Alma, and Cedarville.

The Crawford County Airport offers regional air service with flights to destinations such as Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport (DFW) and Little Rock National Airport (LIT). Local airports in neighboring counties such as Franklin County also provide air service to other destinations around the state.

Rail service is available via Amtrak’s Texas Eagle line which runs between Chicago and Los Angeles with stops in Fort Smith, Van Buren, Alma, Cedarville, Fayetteville, Springdale, Siloam Springs and Rogers. The freight railway system in Crawford County consists of Union Pacific Railroad lines running east/west from Oklahoma City to Memphis.

For those traveling by waterway, there are several marinas located on Lake Dardanelle near Russellville that offer boat rentals for fishing or pleasure cruises on the lake. There are also a handful of public boat ramps located along the lake shore for those who wish to launch their own boats or kayaks.

Cities and towns in Crawford County, Arkansas

Crawford County, Arkansas is home to a number of cities and towns. The county seat is Van Buren, which is the largest city in the county and serves as its economic center. Other major cities in the county include Alma, Cedarville, Mulberry, and Mountainburg. See major cities in Arkansas.

Alma is a small town located near the Oklahoma border. It has a population of about 1,800 people and is known for its historic downtown district and annual community festivals. Cedarville is another small town with a population of just over 600 people. It’s home to several parks and outdoor attractions such as Cedar Creek Golf Course and Lake Fort Smith State Park.

Mulberry is a rural farming town with a population of around 500 people. It’s located on the banks of Mulberry River and boasts several parks such as Mulberry Mountain Park which offers camping, fishing, hiking, horseback riding, swimming, canoeing, kayaking and more.

Mountainburg is located near Natural Dam Lake in western Crawford County. It has a population of about 900 people and offers several outdoor activities such as hiking at Leatherwood Creek Park or visiting nearby Devil’s Den State Park for camping or mountain biking trails.

Other smaller towns in Crawford County include Chester, Dyer, Kibler, Rudy, Uniontown, Van Buren, Wiederkehr Village, and Winslow. Each of these towns has a unique culture of their own that adds to the overall charm of Crawford County Arkansas.