Geography of Comoros


Terrain shapes and bedrock

The volcanic archipelago has its longitude in the northwest – southeast and includes (besides the French Mayotte) three major islands and a number of small, all surrounded by coral reefs. At the far north-west is Ngazidja, which is the largest of the islands. On its southern part, Kartala, 2,361 m above sea level, rises an active shield volcano that erupted, among other things. 1972. A plateau at a height of 610 m with thin ground cover and straight coastline spreads northwards. The second largest island, Nzwani, has a triangular shape and a peak of 1,595 m above sea level. The soil is fertile but strongly eroded. The third main island, Mwali, consists of a basalt plateau of about 310 m above sea level. with a ridge that reaches 800 m above sea level.


The tropical islands have a dry season during May to October, when the average temperature is 20 °C, while the rainy season during summer, November to April, is humid and hot, around 28 °C. Rivers are formed during the rainy season, except at Ngazidja, where the water drops into the porous bedrock.

Plant-and animal life

Comoros Wildlife

The islands’ original vegetation was a mixture of forests and grasslands. Practically all forest is gone today, and large parts of the area are cultivated.

The fauna is poor in species and closely related to the Malagasy but has both African and Asian features. Here you will find two species of lemurs, mungomaki (Lemur macaco) and mayotemaki (Lemur fulvus mayottensis). Comorodrongo (Dicrurus fuscipennis) and mayotted drongo (Dicrurus waldeni) are examples of endemic birds. Lately, many mammals and birds have been introduced to humans. Around most of the islands are mangrove forests and coral reefs. In the sea outside the Comoros lives the striking tailed tail fish.

Nature conservation

According to COUNTRYAAH, the Comoros had no national parks in 2010.