Geography of Kazakhstan


According to COUNTRYAAH, Kazakhstan can be geographically divided into four main areas: the Kyrgyz steppes in the northwest, the highlands in the northeast, the lowlands north of the Aral Sea and northeast of the Caspian Sea in the south, and the mountain areas on the border with Kyrgyzstan and China in the southeast.

The Kirgiz steppe is on the whole a low lying area with black soils to the north and chestnut soils further south. The area, like most of Kazakhstan, has a marked continental climate. The Astrachan, just outside the area, in the Russian Federation, has an average temperature in January of −7 ° C and in July of 25 ° C; the annual rainfall is only 150 mm. The area, which was originally overgrown by a sparse steppe vegetation, was subjected to cultivation attempts in the 1950s. The erosion of the vegetation-covered steppe led to increased evaporation and dehydration. Within 15 years, 3 million ha were transferred to naked sand.

The highlands of Kazakhstan occupy most of the Republic’s surface. The area is on the whole a pen plane, where the Paleozoic bedrock had already broken down at the beginning of the Triassic into a slightly undulating plain. Vegetation is predominantly grassland in the north and peninsula in the south.

Even drier are the lowlands in the south, where the annual rainfall can be less than 100 mm. The irrigation around Syr-Darja is one of the causes of the Aral Sea’s catastrophically sinking water level.

The mountain areas in the south-east have metamorphic and pleated bedrock. in Altaj with peaks exceeding 3,000 m. wolf, brown bear and snow leopard. In this area is also the country’s largest city Alma-Ata, whose name, ‘the father of apples’, testifies to an important garden culture.

Nature conservation

Kazakhstan Wildlife

There are three national parks in Kazakhstan. The largest are Altun Emel and Ele Alatau, both of which became national parks in 1996. Several other nature-protected areas are considerably larger, among other things. Andasaysky, Alma-Atinskij in the mountains near the capital, and Pribalchashsky on Lake Balchasj.

  • AbbreviationFinder: Offer a full list of commonly used abbreviations, acronyms, and initialisms related to the state of Kazakhstan.


Astana, 1961-92 Tselinograd, 1992-98 Akmola, the capital of Kazakhstan; 835,200 residents (2014). The name means ‘capital’ in Kazakh. The city replaced Almaty (formerly Alma Ata) as its capital in 1997; since then it has been characterized by economic and population growth and great construction activity. The original city is on the right bank of the river Ishim (tributary to Irtysh), but new neighborhoods have been shot up on the left bank.

Founded by Cossacks in 1830, the town was under the name of the Akmolinsk trade and service town for a huge and quite fertile steppe area. The fact that the city, located 900 km NW of Almaty, was designated as the capital, must include: is seen as a desire to bring Kazakhstan closer to Russia and Europe. Astana is a major railway hub with a 1990 railway station and connections to the rest of Central Asia, China and Russia.